To kick off the most fashionable event of the year, the 9th Annual Style Awards took place on Wednesday, Sept. 5 at Lincoln Center in New York City, the official home of Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week.

Style and fashion's most elite hit the red carpet to post for photos before The 2012 Style Awards show, which recognizes and celebrates the work of talented individuals in fashion design, entertainment, models, stylists and athletics. Before the show began, the red carpet was packed with celebrities from Ivanka Trump to Amare Stoudemire to Katharine McPhee along with designers like Rachel Roy and Rebecca Minkoff. All, of course, were dressed in their most stylish threads for the ocassion.

The honorees, chosen by the Style Awards Nominating Committee, received The Lalique-designer crystal Style Award. The ten recipients of the prestigious award were:

Designer of the Year: Carolina Herrera
Accessories Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff
Breakthrough Designer of the Year: Prabal Gurung
Katharine McPhee: Female to Watch
Ed Westwick: Male to Watch
Celebrity Stylist of the Year: Cristina Ehrlich
Model of the Year: Joan Smalls
Hairstylist of the Year: Andy Lecompte
Most Stylish Athlete: Henrik Lundqvist
TV Costume Designer of the Year: Jenn Rogien

Katie Holmes, Joe Zee, Simon Spurr, Amy Adams, Iman, Nicole Richie, Elettra Wiedemann, Allison Williams and Jeff Gorder were presenters of awards for the night.

The 9th Annual 2012 Style Awards will air on The Style Network on Friday, Sept. 14 at 8 p.m. EST. The event was presented by Penske Media Corporation (PMC), Style Media and IMG Fashion with Director of Fashion at Lincoln Center Stephanie Winston Wolkoff as Executive Producer.