The BBC has unveiled its long list for the Sound of 2012 poll, which features a list of musical talents to look out for next year.

Musicians on the list include Frank Ocean, who has worked with Jay-Z and Kanye West, as well as fellow rising stars like Skrillex, Azealia Banks, rapper Dot Rotten and all-girl trio StooShe. The long list will be narrowed to the five most popular talents, which will then be revealed in the first week of January. The name of a single artist, starting with the one placed in fifth position, will be revealed every day throughout the first week of the New Year, with the winner of the poll being announced on Friday, Jan. 6.

The list previously helped launch the careers of stars such as Jessie J, Ellie Goulding, Adele, 50 Cent and The Vaccines.

The Sound of 2012 will be the tenth year of predictions compiled by BBC News: a project now established as the definitive annual list of exciting new artists to watch out for. The sheer volume of taste makers who contribute gives it a gravitas that other crystal ball gazers can only envy, said George Ergatoudis, Head of Music, BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra.

The announcements will be made simultaneously on the BBC news Web site and the Sound of 2012 Web site.

The 'Sound of 2012' Long List

  • A$AP Rocky
  • Azealia Banks
  • Dot Rotten
  • Dry The River
  • Flux Pavilion
  • Frank Ocean
  • Friends
  • Jamie N Commons
  • Lianne La Havas
  • Michael Kiwanuka
  • Niki & The Dove
  • Ren Harvieu
  • Skrillex
  • Spector
  • •StooShe