Citigroup Inc's board said it had nominated four new directors, including Anthony Santomero, former president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.

Richard Parsons, who became Citigroup chairman on February 23, is reconstituting the board after a series of directors decided to retire. Among the new nominees are former U.S. Bancorp CEO Jerry Grundhofer, former Bank of America Corp Chief Financial Officer Michael O'Neill, and former PIMCO Chief Executive William Thompson.

After the retirements and the new directors, Citigroup will have 14 directors, compared with its prior 15.

(Reporting by Dan Wilchins; Editing by Lisa Von Ahn)