Saturday, Denmark's Prime Minister Anders Fogh Rasmussen was named the new secretary general of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. He will succeed Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, who is set to step down at the end of July.

After a two-day a summit in the French city of Strasbourg, leaders of NATO member states agreed to have Rasmussen as the chief. His election was possible only after Turkey eased its opposing stance in the eleventh hour after a lot of deliberations by other key members of the military alliance.

Earlier, Turkey had opposed Rasmussen's candidacy, aggrieved by his handling of the issue of cartoons that appeared in the Danish media in 2006, which were widely viewed as offensive to the Prophet Mohammed.

For comments and feedback: contact