HUA HIN, Thailand - South East Asian leaders are meeting in Thailand to work toward creating a political and economic union for the region by 2015.

Here are some key facts about the Association of South East Nations:

* ASEAN's 10 members span the political and economic spectrum: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

* ASEAN's population of 570 million is greater than that of the European Union and the three countries that make up NAFTA -- the United States, Canada and Mexico.

* As of 2006, ASEAN's combined GDP was $1.1 trillion -- about a third the size of China's -- and total trade was around $1.4 trillion, according to the summit website.

* Per capita income was around $1,200.

Here are some key aims at the summit in Hua Hin.

* Launching an ASEAN human rights commission.

* Adopting an ASEAN declaration on climate change to reaffirm ASEAN's position in the negotiation under the United Nations Frameworks Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

* Signing a free-trade agreement between ASEAN, Australia and New Zealand.

* Adopting a declaration on education cooperation.

* Signing of an agreement on Privileges and Immunities of ASEAN.

Sources: Reuters, ASEAN Secretariat

(Compiled by John Ruwitch; Editing by Sanjeev Miglani)