In terms of paragraph 3.59(c) of the JSE Listings Requirements, the board of Harmony Gold Mining Company Limited (“Harmony”) is pleased to announce the following changes in the functions and/or executive responsibilities of a number of directors:

*Mr David Noko was appointed as deputy chairman of the board with effect from 8 November 2011.

*Ms Cathie Markus will assume the role as chairman and member of the remuneration committee of the board of directors of Harmony with effect from 30 November 2011. Ms Markus will replace Mr Cedric Savage who will retire as chairman of the remuneration committee on the aforementioned date.

*Mr Frank Abbott, currently a non-executive director, has been appointed as an executive director with effect from 8 November 2011. Mr Abbott will primarily be responsible for business development within the group. As a result, he will no longer serve as a member of any of the board committees.

The chairman of the board of directors, Mr Patrice Motsepe said, “We are honored and privileged to have these members of the board making themselves available to take up important leadership positions in the company.”

For more details contact:

Mashego Mashego
Executive Director
Tel: +27 (0) 82 650 8394 (mobile)