Overwatch will be available to console owners for free next weekend, Sept. 9 - 12, Blizzard has announced .

During this weekend, Xbox One and PlayStation 4 owners will be able to play any of Overwatch ’s 22 heroes across all 13 maps in whatever mode they please, from Custom Games to Weekly Brawl and everything in between. Players who choose to take advantage of the free Overwatch weekend will have a complete Overwatch experience: they can level up, earn Loot Boxes and unlock different customization options in the Hero Gallery.

Best of all, if players decide to purchase Overwatch: Origins Edition after the free console weekend ends, they will keep whatever progress they made. That means your levels, unlocked skins and more will stay with your account.

Xbox One owners must have an Xbox Live Gold membership to join in on the free Overwatch fun. PlayStation 4 owners don’t need to be a current PlayStation Plus member to try the game out, though it’s worth noting that any PS4 owner who plans to continue playing Overwatch will need to pay for PlayStation Plus. You can activate a free 14-day PlayStation Plus trial here , or you may get a few days free just for the duration of the free console weekend.

The free period will begin for both Xbox One and PlayStation 4 owners on Sept. 9 at 11:00 a.m. PDT (18:00 UTC) and end on Sept. 12 at 4:00 p.m. PDT (23:00 UTC). Here are the starting times for each time zone:

Europe

  1. 7 p.m. BST on Sept. 9

  2. 8 p.m. CEST on Sept. 9

  3. 9 p.m. MSK on Sept. 9

The Americas

  • 11 a.m. PDT on Sept. 9

  • Noon MDT on Sept. 9

  • 1 p.m. CDT on Sept. 9

  • 2 p.m. EDT on Sept. 9

  • 3 p.m. ADT on Sept. 9

  • 3 p.m. BRT on Sept. 9

  • 3:30 p.m. NDT on Sept. 9

  • 2a.m. SGT on Sept. 10

  • 4 a.m. AEST on Sept. 10

  • 6 a.m. NZST on Sept. 10

Asia

  • 2 a.m. CST on Sept. 10

  • 3 a.m. KST on Sept. 10

  • 3 a.m. JST on Sept. 10

Here are instructions on how to access the free console weekend, straight from Blizzard:

FOR PLAYSTATION 4:

  • Step 1: Turn on your PlayStation 4 and log in to your preferred local user.

  • Step 2: Go to PlayStation Store and select "Search" from the top menu.

  • Step 3: In the search field, type in "Overwatch."

  • Step 4: Select "Overwatch Free Weekend" from the search results and then click "Download." Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Start" to begin!

FOR XBOX ONE:

  • Step 1: Turn on your Xbox One and log in to your Xbox Live account.

  • Step 2: Go to the Xbox One Store, then select "Search."

  • Step 3: In the search field, type in "Overwatch."

  • Step 4: Select "Overwatch: Origins Edition Free Weekend" from the search results and then click "Free Trial."

  • Step 5: Once the download and installation process is complete, click "Launch" to begin!

For more questions, check out the FAQ on the official site . It’s great timing on Blizzard’s part: the new Eichenwalde map just dropped and season 2 of competitive has begun. Game on!