W'ere back from vacation that was not market-free. Sterling was not freed of the negative newsflow surrounding the possibility of negative interest rates aimed forcing UK banks to lend money rather than hoarding it. Theres even talk of an additional 25 bln in quantitative easing once the current $50 bln ius used up. Failing to decisively close above $1.64 on Friday was a clear sell sign, and now were heading towards a retest $1.62. USDJPY showed no convincing break above 93 and remains vulnerable to 92.30s. Aussies break 100 pts above the key 0.8470s resistance may have been helped by rallying gold prices and ongoing market expectations that the RBA would be among the first to tighten. While the technical is a vital developments, risk aversion has shown it takes no prisoners in overwhelming high yielding currencies. Ashraf will be guest hosting CNBC Squawk Box this morning from 515am-6am GMT (115am-2 am EDT) and on Bloomberg TV discussing FX & commodities at 10:36 am GMT (6:36 am EDT)