Alaska Senate candidate Joe Miller isn't ready to accept defeat despite media projections that rival candidate Sen. Lisa Murkowski has won the election.

Less than 1 percent of the vote total separates the candidates with more than 255,000 votes cast.

In the latest unofficial results from Wednesday evening, the State of Alaska Division of Elections' shows Miller with 90,740 votes and unspecified candidates with102,252 write in votes. The latest write-in count from Tuesday afternoon shows 103, 569 total votes, with 92,715 going to Murkowski, 8153 challenged votes counted and 2010 challenged votes not counted. Miller has 20 write-in votes.

Murkowski declared herself the winner on Wednesday, telling supporters you made history in a statement. A victory for Murkowski would be the first write-in candidate win for the U.S. Senate in 56 years and only second overall.

Miller's campaign issued a statement on Wednesday indicating that various irregularities with ballots remain to be resolved.

After all the absentee ballots are in and we've further reviewed the procedures and the results, we may ask for a recount, Miller said in a released statement

If there is a recount and a consistent standard is applied to all the ballots, who knows what the difference would be. We need to uphold the integrity of the vote and we need a consistent standard, he said.