Dwight Howard won his record third consecutive defensive player of the year award in April, so it's no surprise that he made the NBA all-defensive team.

Others who made the first team included Boston Celtics guard Rajon Rondo, Miami Heat forward LeBron James, Celtics forward Kevin Garnett and Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant.

Howard, on the first-team squad for a third consecutive year, led the league with 66 double-doubles while averaging 14.1 rebounds and 2.38 blocks per game.

He recorded at least 1,000 rebounds and 100 blocked shots for the sixth straight season.

The all-defensive second team include Tyson Chandler of the Dallas Mavericks, Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies, Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls, Chris Paul of the New Orleans Hornets, and Andre Iguodala of the Philadelphia 76ers.

The previous wiiner of defensive player of year before Dwight Howard was Garnett.

The NBA's 30 head coaches select the winners.