The New York Film Critics Circle has been announcing its 2011 award winners via Twitter on Tuesday.

So far, films like The Iron Lady, Tree of Life and The Artist have filled up the NYFCC's Twitter feed.

The movie awards season is now in full gear, with the Gotham Awards handed out on Monday night and the announcement of the Independent Spirit Award nominations on Tuesday morning.

Follow this feed today for the NYFCC awards for 2011. We are convening now and will be tweeting as the voting progresses, the organization wrote in its first post.

The NYFCC, made up of critics from various newspapers, magazines and online publications, have been awarding the best in film since 1935.

Over the years, the categories have included best picture, director, acting roles, animated film and best first film.

In 2010, the organization gave awards to The Social Network, Black Swan, David Fincher, Colin Firth, Melissa Leo (among others) -- the same movies and names that went on to receive nominations and awards at both the Golden Globes and Oscars.

Here are the winners announced by the New York Film Critics Circle via Twitter:

Best Picture: The Artist

2011 Special Award: Raoul Ruiz (posthumous)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Tree of Life

Best Screenplay: Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, Moneyball

Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Best Foreign Language Film: A Separation

Best Actor: Brad Pitt, Moneyball, Tree of Life

Best Supporting Actor: Albert Brooks, Drive

Best Actress: Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady

Best Supporting Actress: Jessica Chastain, Tree of Life, The Help, Take Shelter

Best Nonfiction Film: Cave of Forgotten Dreams

Best First Feature: Margin Call