Recognition has been given to secondary school teachers across the State for mentoring hundreds of University of Adelaide student teachers, who may become future educators.

The university has displaced 460 teaching students in schools across the state for their compulsory professional practice experience. At least 200 students were hosted by 113 schools during the first semester.

The five-week practicum for teaching students must be taken and completed by all final-year Bachelor of Teaching or Graduate Diploma in Education students.

On Monday, the School of Education department of the university awarded several mentor teachers for its contributions in helping student teachers.

“Mentor teachers in schools are valued very highly as collaborators in the education of our student teachers,” Professor Tania Aspland of University of Adelaide's School of Education said.

“Their professional knowledge and experience, and the generous guidance and support which they give to student teachers, is worthy of recognition. These mentors give up a lot of their time to assist our students and we want them to know that their work is of great value.”

The University awarded five mentors who were outstanding in each four categories: Inspiration, Knowledge, Support, and Role-Model.

Tracy Bellamy from Murray Bridge High school; Penny Collins from Annesley College, Shane Rowett from Naracoorte High School, Mei French from Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College and Joelene Anderson from Jamestown Community School, were the winners for the awards respectively.

Education Minister Jay Weatherill congratulated the award winners.

“Teachers hold the key to our future, inspiring our young people to be the best they can be,” Mr. Weatherill said.