DEVELOPING: Police evacuated a portion of Terminal 1 at San Francisco International Airport (SFO) after a suspicious package was spotted during security screening Friday.

SFO officials said a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) screener flagged the suspicious package in an X-ray machine at Terminal 1, Boarding Area C, at about 11:30 a.m. PT (2:30 p.m. ET) and the San Francisco Police bomb squad was called in to investigate.

The affected area of the terminal primarily services Delta Air Lines and numerous flights were disrupted.

Passengers were ushered to other gates to catch flights, according to airport spokesman Mike McCarron, who explained the chain of events to CBS San Francisco.

The package went through one of the X-Ray machines, McCarron said. The operators didn't like what they saw as far as what was inside the package, asked for assistance, and it was very suspicious.

A passenger was reportedly questioned by officials, but no arrests were made.

Operators of the international hub reopened Terminal 1 Friday afternoon at around 1:20 p.m. PST (4:20 p.m. EST) but reported numerous delays. A press conference was scheduled for 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST)

Earlier in the day, a terminal at New York's John F. Kennedy (JFK) airport was evacuated for two hours following a breach in security.

Police were searching for an individual who got through security at the British Airways terminal without proper screening.

This morning at approximately 5:22 a.m. local time at John F. Kennedy International Airport, a passenger exited the checkpoint at Terminal 7 before completing the screening process, TSA spokesman Kawika Riley told IBTimes. In an abundance of caution, a decision was made to clear the terminal, re-screen passengers, and sweep the area.

Authorities continued to look for the individual after re-screening all passengers. It was not immediately known where the flagged passenger was headed.

Passengers began boarding flights again at around 7:30 a.m., Riley said, and there were residual delays.

The two events were unrelated.