The Slovak Parliament blocked the expansion of the European Financial Stability Fund (EFSF) after the motion has failed to get the required majority of 76 deputies, making Slovakia the only euro zone left to approve the expansion plan.

With 55 deputies backing the proposal, nine rejecting and other either absent or did not register a vote, the plan was not ratified causing a disappointment in markets.

Now, the vote will be repeated again with no announcements for the next date so far amid hopes from Prime Minister Radicova that she might be able to convince opposition to pass the motion. Radicova said I appeal to and urge the leaders ... to turn to the head of Smer and agree on the ratification of the EFSF.

Radicova now is putting her government at risk as she either pass the plan or calls for early elections.