The LSU Tigers are ready to erase the memory of the 2012 BCS National Championship beat down. The Tigers return 13 starters from last years 13-1 squad.

Les Miles only knows one way to play: smash mouth football. The Tigers have a new quarterback under center this season in junior, Zach Mettenberger. Mettenberger has a very strong arm and has very good accuracy. The one knock on Mettenberger is he is not that mobile and has slow feet in the pocket. Expect LSU to depend heavily on their boatload of talented running backs to make Mettenberger's job easier. 

Spencer Ware and Michael Ford both had good freshman campaigns last season. Ware rushed for 707 yards and eight TD's. Ford rushed for 756 yards and seven touchdowns. LSU might be the deepest team at the running back position. Junior tailback, Alfred Blue, rushed for 539 yards and seven touchdowns last year. Sophomore running back, Kenny Hilliard rushed for over 300 yards and eight touchdowns.

Mettenberger is one happy man because he has four talented running backs he can give the rock to that will take a lot of pressure off of his shoulders. 

LSU brings back three returning starters on the offensive line, and should be as dominant as they were last season. Alex Hurst and Chris Faulk are two of the best offensive linemen in the country. 

The Tiger's bread and butter is their defense. Tyrann Mathieu is one of the best football players in the country. Mathieu, A.K.A. "The Honey Badger" finished fifth in the Heisman voting last year and took home the Chuck Bednarik award as a true sophomore. He is an absolute ball hawk and one of the best punt returners in the country. Mathieu had two interceptions, 11 pass break-ups, six forced fumbles, four fumble recoveries, two defensive TD's, and two punt return TD's averaging over 17 yards/return last season. He will be expected to lead the way for one of the best defenses in the nation. 

Sam Montgomery is a monster on the defensive line and is one of the best in the nation. Last year, he led the Tigers with nine sacks and 13.5 tackles for loss. Expect him to contend to for the Ted Hendricks award, which is given to the top defensive lineman in the nation.

LSU lost some talent on defense, Morris Claiborne and Michael Brockers were both selected in the first round of the 2012 NFL Draft. Brandon Taylor and Ron Brooks both heard their names called later in the draft. LSU has been one of the best teams in the nation in replacing talent with even better talent.