Man City: It Only Took 44 Years, But the Drama was Unforgettable

After 44 years, it finally happened.

On May 13, 2012, Manchester City won the Premier League title in the dying minutes of perhaps the most exciting and nail-biting finishes in the league's history.

Francis Lee, who was part of the Manchester City side that won their last league title in 1968, said, "It was real Roy of the Rovers stuff to come back with five minutes to go and score twice, it was unbelievable."

"Unbelievable" it truly was.

With all the financial backing and star players. the City season still went down to the wire. "Manchester City is blue" read many placards, but it could have easily stayed red.

Local rival Manchester United were dethroned, but that shouldn't take away another spectacular season for the Red Devils. Sir Alex Ferguson's squad came within a final shot from Sergio Aguero from winning yet another title.

Numb and expressionless faces surrounded the Etihad Stadium until that moment when Edin Dzeko and Aguero snatched the Cup from Manchester United. For the first time in the history of the Premier League, the title was decided on goal difference -- showing how close and competitive the world's best football league is.

How the balance of power has shifted can only be answered next season. Though City are the title holders, their ability to continue this run is still up in the air.

Predictions have never been a part of the game, aside from a psychic octopus.

For now Manchester is blue, and blue it will remain for at least one year.

  • New 2018 Ford Mustang Revealed [VIDEO]

    Ford revealed the 2018 Mustang, the current car's mid-cycle refresh. The Mustang has been given an aesthetic overhaul, but it's also gained some mechanical options like magnetic suspension and a 10 speed automatic transmission. The V6 engine is dropped, leaving the 2.3L Ecoboost and 5.0L V8 as the engine options. Both have been given more power for 2018. For our review of the original sixth generation Mustang, click here.
  • Oldest Slave Cemetery Discovered On Canary Islands

    By using the DNA recovered by radiocarbon data, a team of international researchers was able to date the remains of 14 men and women found buried at the site all the way back to the 15th and 17th centuries.