Manchester United vs. Chelsea Aftermath: Branislav Ivanović Sending Off Was The Turning Point Of The Match Claims Sir Alex Ferguson

Manchester United has reduced the gap to Chelsea to just one point at the summit of the Barclays Premier League table after a pulsating 3-2 victory at Stamford Bridge.  United won their first game against Chelsea in last 10 years at Stamford Bridge.

 The match was a controversial one which ended up the League leaders ending up with nine men on the pitch. Branislav Ivanović was given a straight red after his tackle on Ashley Young as Ivanović was the last man between young and the Chelsea goalkeeper. The second red was shown to Fernando Torres for his second booking of the night after going down on an easy tackle from Jonny Evans.

United manager Sir Alex Ferguson had a different opinion about the game though as he feels they had a little slice of luck with Javier Hernandez's winner at Chelsea as the striker was marginally offside.  

"It's 10 years since we won here. I said before the game that we've had some shocking decisions down here. It's very difficult to come here and get all the decisions as it's a very difficult place. The crowd played a part, they were terrific and right behind their team, and we buckled in the minutes before and after half time” Ferguson said to Sky Sports

"I think we gathered ourselves well and got back into the game. They said the winning goal could have been offside, so that's a bit of luck we got, but we started the game so well. We were absolutely brilliant but then, 10 minutes from half time, we lost our way a bit. I couldn't wait for half time, to be honest, then they got the second goal and, from that moment, we had to start performing properly and I think we did that." Ferguson said

Speaking about the two red cards shown by referee Mark Clattenburg, Ferguson said “The sending off of the right-back was the turning point for us" 

"I think we would have won it from that point. I put Chicharito on and he got the winning goal as I think the momentum was with us then. Did he [Torres] intend to dive when he could've gone through? I thought he went down. I think Jonny [Evans] may have just caught him a little bit but”