Wednesday, the Federal Council nominated Philipp Hildebrand as the new President of the Swiss National Bank. He will assume office on January 1, 2010 after the retirement of Jean-Pierre Roth. Hildebrand has been a member of the SNB Governing Board since 2003.

The Federal Council appointed Thomas Jordan as the Vice-President and Jean-Pierre Danthine as a member of the Governing Board. They will also assume office on January 1, 2010.

Danthine is a Professor of Macroeconomics and Financial Theory at the University of Lausanne and also the Managing Director of the Swiss Finance Institute and a research fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy Research in London.

For comments and feedback: contact