US Welcomes 13 New National Historic Landmarks [PHOTOS]

on March 11 2013 10:40 PM
  • Camden Amphitheatre and Public Library, Camden, Maine
    "The Camden Amphitheatre and Public Library is one of the few public projects of Fletcher Steele, one of America’s premier practitioners of 20th-century landscape design. It is an outstanding representation of the contributions made by the landscape architecture profession, private benefactors, and national associations to develop public landscapes in the United States that celebrated natural regional beauty, scenic character, and rich cultural history." (NPS) creative commons/shadysidelantern
  • Camp Nelson Historic and Archeological District, Jessamine County, Ky.
    "One of the nation’s largest recruitment and training centers for African American soldiers during the American Civil War, Camp Nelson is also significant as the site of a large refugee camp for the wives and children of the soldiers who were escaping slavery and seeking freedom." (NPS) creative commons/j. stephen conn
  • Casa Dra. Concha Meléndez Ramírez, San Juan, Puerto Rico
    "This was the residence and workspace of Dra. Concha Meléndez Ramírez, a prolific and prominent literary criticism voice in Generación del Treinta (Generation of 1930), a literary movement that shaped Puerto Rico’s 20th-century national cultural identity." (NPS) Puerto Rico Historic Preservation Office
  • Edmund Pettus Bridge, Selma, Ala.
    "On March 7, 1965, civil rights marchers drawing attention to the need for voting rights legislation were attacked by law enforcement officials as they crossed the Edmund Pettus Bridge. The attack, which came to be known as “Bloody Sunday,” contributed to the introduction and passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, considered to be the single most effective piece of civil rightslegislation ever passed by the US Congress." (NPS) creative commons/jermil dotdotdot
  • The Epic of American Civilization Murals, Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.
    "These murals are the most important work in the United States by muralist José Clemente Orozco, one of Mexico’s foremost mural artists of the early 20th century. Orozco conceived the murals as a representation of a North American continent characterized by the duality of indigenous and European historical experiences. Though highly controversial in their day, the murals challenged traditional ways of thinking about the development of Aztec and Anglo-American civilizations in North America." (NPS) wikicommons
  • George T. Stagg Distillery, Franklin County, Ky.
    "With resources dating from approximately 1880 to 1953, the George T. Stagg Distillery is a rare, intact example of an operating distillery before, during and after Prohibition. It provides an unparalleled opportunity to study at one site the evolution of buildings and technology associated with the American whiskey industry." (NPS) creative commons/farenuff
  • Harriet Beecher Stowe House, Hartford, Conn
    "Though best known to modern audiences for her antislavery work, Harriet Beecher Stowe was widely recognized in her lifetime as a highly prolific and nationally significant reformer for a wide variety of causes. Her longtime home in Hartford is associated with Stowe’s later career as a reformer on issues relating to the family and women’s roles." (NPS) wikicommons
  • Hinchliffe Stadium, Paterson, N.J.
    "Hinchliffe Stadium is an exceptional example of a Negro league baseball stadium in 20th-century segregated America. The stadium served as home field for teams such as the New York Black Yankees and the New York Cubans during a period when the institutionalized practice of “separate but equal” facilities was the accepted norm. Eleven current members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame played at Hinchliffe Stadium." (NPS) wikicommons
  • Honey Springs Battlefield, McIntosh and Muskogee Counties, Okla.
    "By far the largest Civil War engagement of the 1861-1865 period of conflict within Indian Territory, the Battle of Honey Springs was the largest battle in Indian Territory in which Native Americans fought as members of both Union and Confederate armies. It is also significant as the first and largest engagement in which Indian troops of both sides fought in the formalized style of Anglo-American warfare." (NPS) creative commons/farmalldanzil
  • Old San Juan Historic District/Distrito Histórico del Viejo San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico.
    "Old San Juan is the only existing representation of an almost 400-year-old Spanish Colonial city in the United States, and contains the largest collection of buildings representing four centuries of Spanish culture, religion, politics, and architecture. It is the oldest city within the United States and its territories, and the district includes the oldest house, Christian church, executive mansion, convent, and military defenses in the country as well." (NPS) creative commons/melvdesigns
  • Pear Valley, Eastville, Va.
    "Dating to 1740, the wood-frame house known as Pear Valley is an excellent, rare surviving example of the distinctive form of architecture that developed in the Chesapeake Bay region, illustrating how early settlers in the colonies adapted to their new environment." (NPS) wikicommons
  • Church to help fight payday loan companies
    payday loan companies face tough competition wikicommons
  • Yaddo, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
    "One of the country’s oldest artists’ retreats, Yaddo has hosted more than 6,000 influential writers, visual artists and composers who shaped and imprinted American culture with a distinct national identity in the 20th century. Among the notable artists who have worked at Yaddo are Aaron Copland, Truman Capote, Leonard Bernstein, Flannery O’Connor, Sylvia Plath and Langston Hughes." (NPS) creative commons/selbe b
1 of 13

The United States now has 13 new national historic landmarks that “recognize a more complete story of America, including significant Latino, African American and Indian sites,” Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar and Director of the National Park Service Jonathan B. Jarvis said announcing their designation Monday.

The new additions range from the Historic District of Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, to a Civil War refugee camp and a bridge in Selma, Ala., where an attack on civil rights marchers led to the introduction and passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

“From the Civil War to civil rights, to the struggles and accomplishments of women, African Americans and Latinos, these sites highlight the mosaic of our nation’s historic past,” said Jarvis. “We are proud to administer the National Historic Landmarks Program to educate and inspire Americans through their country’s rich and complex history.”

Salazar added that the national historic landmark designations spanned more than two centuries of American history.

“Today’s designations include significant sites that help tell the story of America and the contributions that all people from all walks of life have made as we strive for a more perfect union,” he said.

Preservation officials and other partners nominate national historic landmarks for their significant value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the U.S. The National Park Service has administered the sites since the program’s inception in 1935.

With Monday’s new additions, the NPS now manages 2,540 national historic landmarks.

Share this article

More News from IBT MEDIA