Daylight saving time (DST) for most people in the United States and Canada ends on Sunday at 2 a.m. Remember to turn all clocks back to 1 a.m. local time.

The practice of DST has been widely criticized and even reported to have caused problems for farmers and others in occupations tied to the sun. In addition, statistics show a dramatic increase in the number of car accidents in the days following the yearly conclusion of DST. According to a five-year-study by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 900 fatal crashes across the U.S. could be prevented if DST were year-round.

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 decrees that DST begins the second Sunday of March and ends the first Sunday of November.

Apparently, American philosopher and inventor Benjamin Franklin was the first person to suggest the concept of daylight saving time, according to computer scientist David Prerau, author of the book Seize the Daylight: The Curious and Contentious Story of Daylight Saving Time.

However, it wasn't until World War I that the practice was realized on a grand scale. Germany was the first state to adopt the time changes to reduce artificial lighting and thereby save coal for the war effort.

U.S. states or territories that do not observe DST are Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands. and most of Arizona.