Boeing

Boeing 787 Dreamliner (Credit: Reuters)

Boeing's new 787 Dreamliner will make its first test flight today, a flight that was originally planned for 2007 but faced a series of delays.

The first flight of the Boeing 787 Dreamliner is scheduled for 10 a.m. PT, 1 p.m. ET today.

Boeing has set up a Webcast that will allow viewers to watch the flight line online. Click here for the Live Webcast.

According to Boeing's website, the Webcast will begin at 9:40 a.m. PT, or 12:40 p.m. ET.

The 787 Dreamliner faced a series of problems during production, including design problems, strikes and even a shortage of bolts.

The Boeing 787 Dreamliner has maximum seating capacity is between 290 and 330 passengers, depending on the model.

Boeing says the plane is more fuel-efficient compared to earlier Boeing airliners and will be the first major airliner to use composite materials for most of its construction.

Read More: Five facts about the Boeing 787 Dreamliner