The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its eight inductees for 2015 that include Ringo Starr, the former drummer of The Beatles, Lou Reed, Green Day, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Bill Withers, and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

The induction ceremony will reportedly be held at Cleveland's Public Hall on April 18, 2015. Starr, who is the last of his band mates to receive the honor, will also receive the Award for Musical Excellence. John Lennon was posthumously inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1994, Paul McCartney was inducted as a solo artist in 1999 and George Harrison was honored posthumously in 2004.

"This means recognition to me," Starr told Rolling Stone. "And it means, finally, the four of us are in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame even though we were the biggest pop group in the land, though now it all looks funny in black and white."

The Hall of Fame voters reportedly decided not to induct nine other nominees, which included Sting, The Spinners, The Smiths, American funk band War, German electronic music band Kraftwerk, American band Chic, all-girl group The Marvelettes, rock band Nine Inch Nails, and American hip-hop group N.W.A.

An act must have released its first single or first album at least 25 years before the nomination for the honor, and Green Day made the list in its first year of eligibility.

"I had to go for a walk when I heard the news," Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong told Rolling Stone. "We're in incredible company and I'm still trying to make sense of this. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has always held something special for me because my heroes were in there. This is a great time for us to sort of reflect and look back with gratitude."