“The Walking Dead” franchise will be expanded as the creator, Robert Kirkman, and Jay Bonansinga are teaming up for another four novels in the series, with the first one scheduled to be published by Thomas Dunne Books and St. Martin's Press on Oct. 14.

The first of the four novels is titled "The Walking Dead: Descent," according to Entertainment Weekly. The novel will feature Lilly Caul, who appears in the original comic book and is a central character in previous novel "The Road to Woodbury,” returning to Woodbury and attempting to rebuild it after the Governor's failed assault on the prison.

“I’m thrilled to be working with Jay Bonansinga on more novels,” Kirkman told EW. “There is quite a bit of unexplored territory left in "The Walking Dead" universe, and I think people are going to love what Jay brings to this world in this medium.”

The series received the 2010 Eisner Award for Best Continuing Series at San Diego Comic-Con International.

AMC picked up the rights to produce a show based on the novel in 2009 and premiered it in 2010 with high ratings. "The Walking Dead" TV series wrapped up its fourth season in late March. It has been renewed for a fifth season by AMC and is slated to air on Oct. 12.

Kirkman and Charles H. Eglee are currently writers and executive producers of the show.