Are you ready for 2016? The next 366 days — yes, it's a leap year — are sure to be exciting no matter where in the world you live. The Panama Canal expansion is scheduled to be finished, India is set to launch its first manned spaceflight and Blink-182 is supposed to release a new album. What a lineup.

This list of major events should help you plan out your year. Sit down with an obnoxiously large desk calendar, some colored markers and a cup of coffee and go over this small sampling of what's happening in 2016. This schedule was composed with information from sites like and


Friday, Jan. 1: New Year's Day

Wednesday, Jan. 6: People's Choice Awards

Sunday, Jan. 10: Golden Globe Awards

Monday, Jan. 18: Martin Luther King Jr. Day


Tuesday, Feb. 2: Groundhog Day

Sunday, Feb. 7: Super Bowl

Monday, Feb. 8: Chinese New Year

Wednesday, Feb. 10: Ash Wednesday

Friday, Feb. 12: "Zoolander 2" movie release

Sunday, Feb. 14: Valentine's Day

Monday, Feb. 15: Presidents Day; Grammy Awards

Sunday, Feb. 28: Academy Awards


Friday, March 4: "House of Cards" Season 4 release

Wednesday, March 9: Some people in Southeast Asia and the western Pacific Ocean are able to see a total solar eclipse.

Sunday, March 13: Daylight saving time begins.

Thursday, March 17: St. Patrick's Day

Friday, March 18: "The Divergent Series: Allegiant" movie release

Friday, March 25: Good Friday; "Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice" movie release

Sunday, March 27: Easter


Friday, April 1: April Fools' Day

Wednesday, April 6: A law making microchipping dogs mandatory takes effect in England.

Monday, April 18: Boston Marathon

Friday, April 22: Passover begins at sundown.

Saturday, April 23: 400th anniversary of William Shakespeare's death

Friday, April 29: Arbor Day

Saturday, April 30: Passover ends at sundown.


Wednesday, May 4: Yom HaShoah

Thursday, May 5: Cinco de Mayo

Friday, May 6: "Captain America: Civil War" movie release

Saturday, May 7: Kentucky Derby

Sunday, May 8: Mother's Day

Monday, May 9: Mercury transits the sun for the first time since 2006.

Monday, May 30: Memorial Day


Tuesday, June 7: Ramadan begins

Tuesday, June 14: Flag Day

Sunday, June 19: Father's Day

Monday, June 20: Summer solstice

Monday, June 27: Wimbledon tennis tournament begins.


Saturday, July 2: Tour de France begins.

Monday, July 4: Independence Day

Thursday, July 7: Eid al-Fitr

Sunday, July 10: Wimbledon tennis tournament ends.

Friday, July 15: "Ghostbusters" movie release

Sunday, July 17: "Finding Dory" movie release

Monday, July 18: Republican National Convention begins in Cleveland.

Thursday, July 21: Republican National Convention ends in Cleveland.

Sunday, July 24: Tour de France ends.

Monday, July 25: Democratic National Convention begins in Philadelphia.

Thursday, July 28: Democratic National Convention ends in Philadelphia.


Friday, Aug. 5: Summer Olympic Games start in Rio de Janeiro.

Sunday, Aug. 21: Summer Olympic Games end in Rio de Janeiro.

Thursday, Aug. 25: American National Park Service's 100th birthday


Thursday, Sept. 1: An annular solar eclipse is visible from parts of Africa.

Monday, Sept. 5: Labor Day

Wednesday, Sept. 7: Summer Paralympic Games start in Rio de Janeiro.

Monday, Sept. 12: Eid al-Adha begins at sundown.

Tuesday, Sept. 13: Eid al-Adha ends at sundown.

Sunday, Sept. 18: Summer Paralympic Games end in Rio de Janeiro.


Monday, Oct. 3: Rosh Hashanah

Monday, Oct. 10: Columbus Day

Wednesday, Oct. 12: Yom Kippur

Monday, Oct. 31: Halloween


Sunday, Nov. 6: New York Marathon; daylight saving time ends.

Tuesday, Nov. 8: Election Day in United States

Friday, Nov. 11: Veterans Day

Friday, Nov. 18: "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" movie release

Thursday, Nov. 24: Thanksgiving


To be determined: The first manned SpaceX Dragon V2 mission will make its first test flight.

Wednesday, Dec. 7: 75th anniversary of Pearl Harbor attack

Friday, Dec. 16: "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" movie release

Wednesday, Dec. 21: Winter solstice

Saturday, Dec. 24: Christmas Eve; Hanukkah begins.

Sunday, Dec. 25: Christmas Day

Saturday, Dec. 31: New Year's Eve