For the second straight year Ed Carpenter will lead off the Greatest Spectacle in Racing, as the 98th running of Indianapolis 500 takes place Sunday afternoon at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 33-year-old Carpenter enters his 11th race at the storied brickyard, but he’s yet to drink the milk after escaping the tight packs at speeds of more than 230 mph. Carpenter’s best run came in 2008 when he finished fifth after starting from the No. 10 position.

Now Carpenter finds himself in the most enviable position at No. 1, where 20 racers, by far the most in history, have claimed victory at Indy.

In fact the top three positions is where any Indy Series racer wants to be, which makes James Hinchcliffe and Will Power, from the No. 2 and No. 3 positions, respectively, serious contenders as well. After the pole the No. 2 and No. 3 positions have produced the most winners with 11 each.

One of three Canadians in the field, Hinchcliffe hopes to be the second Canadian to ever win the 500, with Jacques Villeneuve being the first back in 1995. Representing Andretti Autosport, this is Hinchcliffe’s fourth endeavor at Indy and his best finish was sixth place two years ago.

Power hopes to be the first Australian to win the 500, but he can build a significant lead in the IndyCar Standings with a victory and keep Ryan Hunter-Reay and Simon Pagenaud at bay.

The top five is rounded out by and three-time Indy winner and Brazilian Helio Castroneves, who could be the fourth racer to ever win at Indy four times and the first foreign-born to do so, and Pagenaud.

Time: Sunday at noon EST

TV Channel: ABC

Starting Grid

1.Ed Carpenter

2.James Hinchcliffe

3.Will Power

4.Helio Castroneves

5.Simon Pagenaud

6.Marco Andretti

7.Carlos Munoz

8.Josef Newgarden

9.JR Hildebrand

10.Juan Pablo Montoya

11.Scott Dixon

12.Kurt Busch

13.Jack Hawksworth

14.Justin Wilson

15.Mikhali Aleshin

16.Tony Kanaan

17.Sebastien Bourdais  

18.Oriol Servia

19.Ryan Hunter-Reay 

20.Graham Rahal

21.Carlos Huertas

22.Pippa Mann

23.Takuma Sato

24.Alex Tagliani

25.Townsend Bell  

26.Charlie Kimball

27.Jacques Villeneuve

28.James Davison

29.Martin Plowman

30.Ryan Briscoe

31.Sage Karam

32.Sebastian Saavedra

33.Buddy Lazier

Prediction: Helio Castroneves, by a slim margin, will win and make history.