Metallica announced Thursday it will release a new album on Nov. 18, its first in eight years. Called “Hardwired...To Self-Destruct,” the band’s 10th studio album will be the follow-up to 2008’s “Death Magnetic.”

On its website, the band said the double-disc album with “nearly 80 minutes of music ... represents the next phase of our journey as Metallica and we are so excited to share it with you.” There are a total of 12 tracks, six on each disc and a deluxe version offers a third disk “with the [14] riffs that were the origins of the album.” The track listing can be found on the website.

The first track on the first disc is titled “Hardwired” and Metallica released the official video for the headbanging single Thursday.

Since “Death Magnetic,” Metallica has been inducted in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (2009); released an album called “Lulu” with Lou Reed (2011); released “Beyond Magnetic,” which featured songs written for “Death Magnetic” but not included on the album (2011); began a new music festival called “Orion Music + More” (2012); launched its own record label, Blackened Recordings (2012); and starred in a 3D movie called “Metallica: Through the Never” (2013).

The band’s announcement ends on an exciting note: “We cannot wait to hit the road to play these songs live and get in your faces once again, so strap yourselves in… INCOMING!”

About headbanging time!