The NFL’s brightest stars will square off in the 2015 Pro Bowl Sunday night at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. For the second straight year the league pooled every Pro Bowler and allowed two alumni captains, Cris Carter and Michael Irvin, to pick their teams like in a school yard.   

Carter chose Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck with the No. 1 pick, and Irvin followed up with Dallas Cowboys passer Tony Romo. Altogether Irvin would select seven Cowboys, including the league’s leading rusher DeMarco Murray. He also picked Dallas head coach Jason Garrett to man the sidelines.

Carter countered with Baltimore Ravens head coach John Harbaugh.

Murray was named captain for Team Irvin, while Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Antonio Brown and Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt will co-captain for Team Carter.

Besides showing a strong affinity for his old club, Irvin maybe made a controversial choice by adding rookie stud receiver Odell Beckham Jr. of the New York Giants, a rival of the Cowboys. Lining up alongside Beckham will be the Detroit Lions' Golden Tate, Denver Broncos' Emmanuel Sanders and Green Bay Packers' Randall Cobb.

But Carter has an equally impressive batch of receivers to go along with Brown, by adding the Cincinnati Bengals' A.J. Green, Indianapolis Colts' T.Y. Hilton, and Green Bay’s Jordy Nelson.

Both sides also boast fierce some pass rushers. Leading the league with 22.0 sacks, Kansas City Chiefs outside linebacker Justin Houston joins Watt on the Team Carter defense, with Buffalo’s top pass rushers Mario Williams and Marcel Dareus also on board.

Team Irvin will roll out such devastating hitters as St. Louis Rams defensive end Robert Quinn and defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Carolina Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly and Bengals defensive tackle Geno Atkins.

While Team Irvin seems to be more focused on continuity, Team Carter seems to have more accomplished and well-rounded defense. 

Team Michael Irvin


QBs- Tony Romo, Cowboys; Matt Ryan, Falcons; Matthew Stafford, Lions

RBs- C.J. Anderson, Broncos; Mark Ingram, Saints; DeMarco Murray, Cowboys

WRs- Odell Beckham Jr., Giants; Golden Tate, Lions; Emmanuel Sanders, Broncos; Randall Cobb, Packers

TEs- Jimmy Graham, Saints; Jason Witten, Cowboys

FB- Marcel Reese, Raiders

Tackles- Joe Thomas, Browns; Tyron Smith, Cowboys; Trent Williams, Redskins

Guards- Kyle Long, Bulls; Zack Martin, Cowboys; Marshal Yanda, Ravens

Centers- Travis Frederick, Cowboys; Nick Mangold, Jets


DEs- Robert Quinn, Rams; Cameron Wake, Dolphins; DeMarcus Ware, Broncos

DTs- Geno Atkins, Bengals; Aaron Donald, Rams; Sheldon Richardson, Jets

OLBs- Elvis Dumervil, Ravens; Clay Matthews, Packers; Von Miller, Broncos

ILBs- Luke Kuechly, Panthers; D’Qwell Jackson, Colts

CBs- Vontae Davis, Colts; Brent Grimes, Dolphins; Joe Haden, Browns; Chris Harris Jr., Broncos

Safeties- Eric Weddle, Chargers; Mike Adams, Colts; T.J. Ward, Broncos

Special Teams

P- Kevin Huber, Bengals

PK- Adam Vinatieri, Colts

Returner- Darren Sproles, Eagles

Special Teamer- Darrell Stuckey, Chargers

Long-snapper- L.P. Ladouceur, Cowboys

Coach- Jason Garrett, Cowboys

Team Cris Carter


QBs- Andrew Luck, Colts; Drew Brees, Saints; Andy Dalton, Bengals

RBs- Jamaal Charles, Chiefs; Justin Forsett, Ravens; Alfred Morris, Redskins

WRs- A.J. Green, Bengals; T.Y. Hilton, Colts; Jordy Nelson, Packers; Antonio Brown, Steelers

TEs- Martellus Bennett, Bears; Greg Olsen, Panthers

FB- John Kuhn, Packers

Tackles- Joe Staley, 49ers; Duane Brown, Texans; Ryan Clady, Broncos

Guards- Evan Mathis, Eagles; Mike Pouncey, Dolphins; Josh Sitton, Packers

Centers- Jason Kelce, Eagles; Maurkice Pouncey, Steelers


DEs- J.J. Watt, Texans; Mario Williams, Bills; Calais Campbell, Cardinals

DTs- Marcell Dareus, Bills; Dontari Poe, Chiefs; Kyle Williams, Bills

OLBs- Justin Houston, Chiefs; Connor Barwin, Eagles; Tamba Hali, Chiefs

ILBs- C.J. Mosley, Ravens; Lawrence Timmons, Pittsburgh

CBs- Patrick Peterson, Cardinals; Aqib Talib, Broncos; Antonio Cromartie, Cardinals; Sam Shields, Packers

Safeties- Antoine Bethea, 49ers; Glover Quinn, Lions; Donte Whitner, Browns

Special Teams

P- Pat McAfee, Colts

PK- Cody Parkey, Eagles

Returner- Devin Hester, Falcons

Special Teamer- Justin Bethel, Cardinals

Long-snapper- Jon Dorenbos, Eagles

Coach- John Harbaugh, Ravens