The Southern African Development Community has concluded its summit meeting held in Botswana today where the Heads of States agreed on topics for further discussions to be held on Tuesday in Maseru, Lesotho in the 26th session of the Cabinet Council.

The 14-point agenda comprises the analysis of the work done by the secretariats over the last 12 months. The topics on the agenda include measures to take in creating a Free Market Area by 2008, preparation for a SADC Customs Union by 2010, introducing a single regional currency through the Monetary Union by 2016.

Dr Tomaz Salomao, Executive Secretary of the SADC said each of the 14 member countries would also submit progress reports on their Millennium Development Goals, according to The Namibian.

The considerable efforts by SADC countries to reduce poverty and improve human development remain greatly challenged as the gains achieved so far are inconsistent with the minimum MDG targets of reaching the seven per cent economic growth if developing countries are to halve poverty by 2015, Salomao said.

The agenda includes a speech by the organization's new chairman, Pakalitha Mosisili, Lesotho premier. Lesotho will take over the chairmanship of SADC for one year.

The SADC has been in existence since 1980 and work towards achieving development and economic growth, alleviating poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the people of Southern Africa.

The Member States are Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.