For the first time in 15 years, the MLB Home Run Derby saw the previous winner repeat as champion. Oakland Athletics outfielder Yoenis Cespedes won Monday’s contest for a second straight time.

Cespedes totaled 28 home runs in four rounds. He dominated the finals, out homering Cincinnati’s Todd Frazier 9-1.

Jose Bautista was the star of the first round, leading all participants with 10 home runs. For the National League, Giancarlo Stanton led the way in the opening round with six home runs. Under the new format, both players got a bye to the third round, but both failed to get by the semifinals. While Bautista was knocked out with four home runs, Stanton failed to hit a single ball over the wall in Round No.3.

Stanton may have been one of two players to go homerless in a round, but he hit the most impressive shot of the 2014 Home Run Derby. Down to his final out in the first round, the Florida Marlins outfielder launched a home run that went an estimated 510 feet. The ball nearly left Target Field, landing near the top of the upper deck.

Of the 10 contestants, Yasiel Puig was the only one who hit no home runs in the first round. He began the night as one of the favorites, but entered the competition with just 12 home runs, ranking him last among the competitors.

Justin Morneau’s two home runs weren't enough to get him out of the first round, but he received a warm welcome from the fans in Minnesota. He participated in the derby as a member of the Colorado Rockies, after spending nearly 11 seasons with the Twins. The first baseman was named the American League MVP with Minnesota in 2006.

Overall, the AL dominated the competition. Other than having Cespedes win the 2014 Home Run Derby, the AL outhomered the NL 54 to 24.

Below are the results and highlights from the 2014 Home Run Derby.

First Round

AL                                                        NL

Jose Bautista, 10                               Giancarlo Stanton, 6

Adam Jones, 4                                   Troy Tulowitzki, 4

Josh Donaldson, 3                             Todd Frazier, 2

Yoenis Cespedes, 3                           Justin Morneau, 2

Brian Dozier, 2                                   Yasiel Puig, 0

First Round Swing Off

Yoenis Cespedes, 2                           Todd Frazier, 1

Josh Donaldso, 1                               Justin Morneau, 0

Second Round

Yoenis Cespedes, 9                          Todd Frazier, 6

Adam Jones 3                                   Troy Tulowitzki, 2

Third Round

Yoenis Cespedes, 7                          Todd Fraizer, 1

Jose Bautista, 4                               Giancarlo Stanton, 0


Yoenis Cespedes, 9

Todd Frazier, 1