• Dallas Cowboys star Dak Prescott is only top 3 on the list of highest-paid NFL players in 2021 with an average annual salary of  $40 million
  • Josh Allen signed a six-year, $258 million contract with the Buffalo Bills on Aug. 6, 2021
  • Patrick Mahomes tops the list to become the highest-paid NFL player in 2021 with an average annual salary of $45 million

The NFL is home to the biggest athletes who are undeniably some of the richest players in the world of sports due to their charisma and game performances. Many players have lucrative contracts that pay them millions of dollars each year. They are also compensated with other bonuses that add up to their total payouts.

The football league continues to fight back against the coronavirus pandemic by holding its 102nd season this year. Despite setbacks, many athletes were still able to land massive deals and contracts. This list, compiled by NFL, details the 10 highest-paid NFL players in 2021 based on their average annual salaries, and it includes iconic names such as Kansas City Chiefs Patrick Mahomes and Dallas Cowboys’ Dak Prescott.

#10 Matt Ryan

Quarterback Matt Ryan signed a five-year contract extension with the Atlanta Falcons worth $150 million in 2018. The NFL player was given a $46.5 million signing bonus and an average annual salary of $30 million, as per Spotrac.

#9 Carson Wentz

Former Philadelphia Eagles star Carson Wentz was traded to the Indianapolis Colts in February 2021 in exchange for the 2022 2nd round pick. His previous contract with the Eagles was worth $128 million for four years, and it gave him an average of $32 million in yearly salary.

#8 Kirk Cousins

Kirk Cousins is the quarterback of the Minnesota Vikings and is on a two-year contract extension with the team. The deal is worth $66 million and pays the NFL player an average yearly salary of $33 million.

#7 Aaron Rodgers

NFL Player of the Year Award (2016) recipient and the Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers is considered to be one of the greatest Gridiron football quarterbacks in the history of the league. His past performances allowed him to score a $134 million, four-year contract with an average annual pay of $33.5 million with his team.

#6 Jared Goff

Los Angeles Rams star Jared Goff was traded to the Detroit Lions in March 2021 in exchange for a 2021 3rd round pick, 2022 1st round pick and 2023 1st round pick. His previous contract with the Rams was worth a lucrative amount of $134 million for four years, which comes out to average yearly earnings of $33.5 million.

#5 Russell Wilson

Russell Wilson earns a lucrative yearly salary of $35 million from his contract with the Seattle Seahawks that is worth $140 million for four years. The quarterback was also given a total of $107 million in guaranteed money, and he was named the 2021 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year in February.

#4 Deshaun Watson

Quarterback Deshaun Watson signed a four-year, $156 million contract extension with the Houston Texans in 2020, which gives him an average yearly pay of $39 million. The 25-year-old superstar also received more than $110 million in guaranteed pay for his prospected value with the team.

#3 Dak Prescott

Dallas Cowboys’ 28-year-old star Dak Prescott is only top three on the list of highest-paid NFL players in 2021. The young athlete has a massive contract with the Cowboys worth $160 million for four years. Prescott’s annual salary comes out to be $40 million, and he was given a guaranteed $126 million for joining the team.

#2 Josh Allen

With a lucrative six-year, $258 million contract with the Buffalo Bills, young superstar Josh Allen earns a yearly salary of $43 million. He signed the massive deal with the Bills on Aug. 6, 2021, after only playing in the NFL for a few years since he was drafted in 2018.

#1 Patrick Mahomes

Kansas City Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes leads as the highest-paid NFL player in 2021 with his 10-year, $450 million contract. He is set to earn an average annual salary of $45 million and enjoyed a $10 million signing bonus. The 25-year-old quarterback also won the 2018 MVP Award and went on to be the Super Bowl LIV champion, as per CNBC.

NFL logo The NFL logo appears on a goal post before the 2015 NFC Championship game between the Seattle Seahawks and the Green Bay Packers at CenturyLink Field in Seattle Jan. 18, 2015. Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images