Boasting the third-lowest positivity rate in the nation, New York state issued new guidelines for travelers.

Travelers from non-neighboring states must get tested for COVID-19 within three days of arriving in New York state, quarantine for at least three days, and then get another test on the fourth day, Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a press call Saturday.

Travelers can exit the quarantine if they have a second negative test on the fourth day. Travelers with a negative test must self-quarantine for 14 days.

The non-neighboring states are New Jersey, Connecticut and Pennsylvania.

The changes come as more than 98,000 Americans on Friday received a positive COVID test result.

On Sunday, Cuomo provided a positive update on New York's progress in containing the pandemic.

“New York had the highest positivity rate in the nation at the peak of this crisis. Now we have the third-lowest in the nation," he said.

"New Yorkers should be very proud of that fact, but we also need to remain vigilant. The fall is difficult for everyone. Many countries are closing down again or implementing restrictions. While in New York we’re managing it well, we need to stay smart -- wear a mask, wash your hands, socially distance and be united, because we can only beat this virus together.”