The Ottawa Senators are sending four starters to the All-Star Game on Jan. 29 at Scotiabank Place.

Erik Karlsson led the fan balloting with 939,951 votes. The 21-year-old defenseman is second in the NHL in assists and has five goals on the season. Karlsson will be joined by left wing Milan Michalek, who lead the Senators in goals with 19 in just 35 games.

Senators' captain Daniel Alfredsson and center Jason Spezza also made the All-Star squad.

The Senators only have 45-team points in 40 games. If the playoffs were to start today, Ottawa would be a sixth seed in the Eastern Conference.

The other two starters will be defenseman Dion Phaneuf of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Boston Bruins' goalies Tim Thomas. A notable snub was Tampa Bay's Steven Stamkos, who is the clear goal-scoring leader with 27 on the season.

About 24 million votes were cast by fans from Nov. 14 until Jan. 4 in the all-digital balloting, which marks a 66 percent increase compared to last season, according to the Associated Press.