We mean this in the nicest way possible, but don’t trust your Facebook friends. There’s a new rumor circulating around Mark Zuckerberg’s social media site claiming there is a change in privacy settings. If a certain portion of prewritten text is not copied and pasted by the user into a status update, then the user’s profile and pictures will become public.

But there’s no need to fret. Essentially, it’s the 21st-century version of a chain letter.

The message comes from “Channel 13 News,” which isn’t real. If someone shares the prewritten text, their profile is safe, according to the message. If Facebook users ignore the message, they will be in violation of the "Rome Statute" and the "UCC 1-308" — or so the hoax says. 

The Rome Statute is a set of laws from the International Criminal Court that cover war crimes and genocide. The UCC is the U.S. Uniform Commercial Code, which doesn’t apply to Facebook either.

Here is the full statement:

“Due to the fact that Facebook has chosen to use a software that will allow the theft of my personal information, I declare the following: At this date of 29 June 2016, in response to the new guidelines of Facebook and under Articles L. 111, 113 and 113 of the code of intellectual property, I declare that my rights are attached to all my personal data, drawings, paintings, photos, text etc.… Published on my profile and on my pages. For commercial use of the foregoing my written consent is required at all times. Those who read this text can make a copy/paste one their Facebook wall. This will allow them to place themselves under the protection of copyright. The actions mentioned above also apply to the employees, students, agents and/or any other staff under the direction of Facebook. The contents of my profile contains private information. The violation of my privacy is punishable by law (UCC 1-308 1-308 1-103 and the Rome statute). Facebook is now an open capital entity. All members are invited to publish a noticed of this kind, or if they prefer, can copy and paste this version. If you have not published this statement at least once, you will tacitly allow the use of elements such as your photos as well as the information contained in the update of profile… Hi to all and to all! Little Reminder: Protect you! Almost all the account are being hacked. The profile picture and your name are used to create a new Facebook account. And then ask your friends to add them. Your friends think it’s you and accept. From this moment, the pirates can write what they want under your name!”

Facebook shot down the hoax. “You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Don’t believe it. Our terms say clearly: You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it’s shared through your privacy and application settings. That’s how it works, and this hasn’t changed,” the company said in a statement, the Times of India reported.

While it’s nothing new, the hoax gained momentum again in India. It then spread to the U.K. 

Follow me on Twitter @mariamzzarella