Google has finally added an "Undo Send" function to Gmail, giving all users of the service the ability to retrieve messages they've decided are better off unsent. This Undo Send feature is available to Gmail users immediately. Users can set the function to retrieve emails after five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.

The feature was previously available in Gmail Labs and Inbox by Gmail. The Gmail version will allow users to pull back a misaddressed email, or an email sent to "Reply to All" instead of to just one person. Such embarrassing moments can be put to rest, thanks to the new feature, notes BGR.

Google has announced the new feature “Undo Send” on its official Apps blog pertaining to Britain. Here are the steps:

1. Log into Gmail.

2. Click the gear icon located on the top-right corner.

3. Select Settings.

4. Scroll to the General Tab.

5. Find “Undo Send” as the 10th option.

6. Select the checkbox labeled “Enable Undo Send.”

7. Set the length of time within which the ability to recall the sent mails will be applicable. The drop-down menu options include five, 10, 20 and 30 seconds.

BGR says Gmail’s Undo Send feature really adds a delay on the Send button. As a result, when a user hits the Send button, instead of shooting off the mail, Gmail will hold it for the time duration configured in the Settings window. Once the time expires, the mail will reportedly leave the inbox. Therefore, in case Gmail users realize the need to stop the mail from being sent, it can be simply recalled by clicking the Undo link on the top of the Gmail page.