The details of what Huawei will announce at Mobile World Congress remain mostly a mystery, but the Chinese company — which had saw huge growth in 2015 — will look to continue that growth into 2016.

Huawei, now one of the most important consumer electronics companies in the world, has publicly declared its ambition to overtake Apple in the smartphone market and eventually to become the world’s biggest smartphone maker.

What Time is the Huawei News Conference Kicking Off?

Huawei will kick off the major news conference at this year’s Mobile World Conference in Barcelona, Spain, on Sunday at the Montjuic Exhibition Centre in the city. Here are the local times the news conference will begin:

  • San Francisco – 3 a.m.
  • New York – 8 a.m.
  • Rio de Janeiro – 9 a.m.
  • London – 1 p.m.
  • Barcelona - 2 p.m.
  • Amsterdam – 2 p.m. 
  • Johannesburg – 3 p.m.
  • Moscow – 4 p.m.
  • Abu Dhabi – 5 p.m.
  • New Delhi – 6.30 p.m.
  • Beijing – 9 p.m.
  • Hong Kong – 9 p.m.
  • Seoul – 10 p.m.
  • Tokyo – 10 p.m.
  • Sydney – midnight (Monday)

How Can I Watch the Huawei Press Conference Online?

Huawei is expected to live-stream its Mobile World Congress press conference  directly on its YouTube channel.

What to Expect?

At the Consumer Electronics Show last month Huawei unveiled its latest premium smartphone with the Mate 8, and it is not expected to release another high-profile device in Barcelona. While Huawei could show off some new smartphones, it is unlikely to be the P9, which has recently leaked online.

The tagline for Huawei's press conference is "The New Style of Business," and many expect Huawei to announce a hybrid tablet-laptop that is capable of running Windows and Android and will also come with a stylus. Think Microsoft's Surface range, though Huawei's so-called MateBook is likely to be much more affordable.

Huawei could also update the Huawei Watch it unveiled for the first time at Mobile World Congress last year, and it could also show off other wearables and even a virtual-reality headset to work with its smartphones.