Johnny Manziel made history on Saturday as the Texas A&M quarterback was awarded the Heisman Trophy -- making him the first freshman to win the prestigious college football award.

Manziel drew 474 first-place votes and beat out Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o, who finished with 321 first-place votes, and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, who finished a distant third with 60 first place votes. USC wide receiver Marqise Lee, a frontrunner for the award in 2013, finished fourth, and Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller finished fifth.

"This is a moment I've dreamed about since I was a kid running around the backyard pretending I was Doug Flute throwing Hail Marys to my dad," said Manziel, at the Downtown Athletic Club in New York.

"I wish my whole team could be up here with me tonight especially my whole offensive line."

Manziel broke Cam Newton's SEC record for total yards, when he finished the regular season with 3,419 passing yards and 1,181 rushing yards.

With Manziel winning the Heisman, the award continues to maintain its bias towards offensive players. Many believed Te'o deserved the award with Notre Dame ranked No. 1 in the nation, and the senior playing a major role in turnovers this season. Charles Woodson was the last defensive player to win the Heisman, but the Michigan star also played some wide receiver and was a special teams specialist.

Te'o has been an extremely valuable member of Notre Dame's undefeated season. He not only has been the leader of an over-achieving unit, but the Fighting Irish are back in the National Championship for the first time in over 20 years.

Te'o was clear about his feelings when he didn't hear his name called.

"I just felt that burn," he said, when Manziel won the award, according to The Chicago Sun-Times. "I can't really describe it. I just felt that burn -- hey, gotta get better."