Before the engines start at NASCAR’s Quicken Loans 400 Sunday, the drivers and crowd will hold a moment of silence for Jason Leffler. The 37-year-old driver was killed in an accident Wednesday at Bridgeport Speedway in New Jersey.

That moment will make Carl Edwards second pole win in over a year very bittersweet. Clocking in at 202.452 mph, Edwards won his last pole at the Dayton 500 last year.

Edwards and his team may be clicking at the right time, as he tries to make a move on Sprint Cup Series points leader Jimmie Johnson, who will start for the No. 17 spot.

Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne, Paul Menard, and Aric Almirola make up the rest of the top five at Michigan International Speedway.

Defending Quicken Loans 400 champ Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start from the No. 12 position. Currently fourth in the standings, Earnhardt Jr. has finished in the top 10 in four of his last five races.

Often known for his quick wit and temper, Denny Hamlin found a unique way of his own to honor Leffler. He reportedly repainted his car to the same colors and design as when Leffler drove for Joe Gibbs Racing.

Hamlin will begin Sunday’s race just in front of Earnhardt Jr. at the No. 11 spot.

The race begins at 1 p.m. Eastern and will be broadcast by TNT.

Starting Lineup

1. Carl Edwards

2. Kurt Busch

3. Kasey Kahne

4. Paul Menard

5. Aric Almirola

6. Joey Logano

7. Austin Dillon

8. Matt Kenseth

9. Kyle Busch

10. Juan Pablo Montoya

11. Denny Hamlin

12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

13. Martin Truex Jr.

14. Tony Stewart

15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

16. Brad Keselowski

17. Jimmie Johnson

18. Jeff Burton

19. Greg Biffle

20. Bobby Labonte

21. Kevin Harvick

22. Mark Martin

23. Marcos Ambrose

24. Casey Mears

25. Trevor Bayne

26. David Gilliland

27. Clint Bowyer

28. Jamie McMurray

29. Jeff Gordon

30. Michael McDowell

31. David Ragan

32. AJ Allmendinger

33. David Reutimann

34. David Stremme

35. Ryan Newman

36. Dave Blaney

37. Danica Patrick

38. Josh Wise

39. Ken Schrader

40. J.J. Yeley

41. Travis Kvapil

42. Joe Nemechek

43. Mike Bliss