Update (8:37 a.m.): According to the Wall Street Journal, Asian markets will have access to Xbox One in 2014.

Want to play the Xbox One outside of the 21 supported countries at launch? Unfortunately, you’re out of luck. According to a disclaimer on Xbox.com regarding pre-orders for the Xbox One, the next-generation console will be supported only in these countries on launch:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

In addition to noting the supported regions, the disclaimer also states:

 "Xbox One games are for activation and distribution only in specified geographic regions."

Twitter user Robert Hallahan wanted to confirm this issue and tweeted @XboxSupport, the official Microsoft Xbox Twitter account. A representative on the account confirmed the disclaimer's text:

When asked about the Xbox One only working within those countries, @XboxSupport responded with this tweet:

But what if you purchased an Xbox One in a supported country and then brought it outside of the 21 supported countries? Unfortunately that isn't supported, according to the representative.

While the news that the Xbox One would be region-locked was nothing new, this inability to use the console outside of its designated purchase country creates new obstacles for consumers looking to buy.

What do you think about game-console region-locking? Let us know in the comments.