TJ Miller Critics Choice Awards host
Actor and comedian T.J. Miller will host the 21st annual Critics' Choice Awards in Santa Monica on Jan. 17. Pictured: T.J. Miller at the Hollywood premiere of "Silicon Valley" on Apr. 2, 2015. Getty Images

The 21st annual Critics' Choice Awards kicks off Sunday in Santa Monica, California. The ceremony will recognize the best actors and actresses in television and movies.

Some of the hottest flicks and most-addictive TV shows of 2015 are up to receive awards from the Broadcast Film Critics and the Broadcast Television Journalists.

Charlize Theron's blockbuster hit "Mad Max: Fury Road" leads the Critics' Choice Awards with 13 nominations, including Best Picture, Best Cinematography and Best Action Movie. Theron is also nominated for Best Actress for her role in the sci-fi film.

A number of celebrity presenters are expected to hand out awards, including Tracee Ellis Ross, late night talk show host James Corden, America Ferrera, John Stamos, Khloé Kardashian, Aziz Ansari and more.

"Trainwreck" star Amy Schumer will receive the Critics' Choice MVP Award, and comedian-actor T.J. Miller will host the two-hour ceremony. In December, Miller told People magazine that it was always a dream of his to host an awards ceremony.

"[The Critics' Choice Awards are] a little bit different, it's a little bit off and it's really fun to watch live," he said. "We're recognizing people who don't get recognized and don't win awards at these other awards shows. It's a different group of people, who are discerning, legit critics, but who are sifting through and coming at it from a different perspective."

The Critics' Choice Awards will broadcast live Sunday, Jan. 17, from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California, on A&E, Lifetime and Lifetime Movie Network at 8 p.m. EST. The red carpet for the awards show will air on A&E at 7 p.m. EST. A&E will live stream the awards ceremony online here for those who won't be able to catch the festivities on TV.

To see the full list of Critics' Choice Awards nominees, click here.