MTV Movie Awards
Host Conan O'Brien speaks on stage at the 2014 MTV Movie Awards in Los Angeles, Calif., April 13, 2014. Reuters/Lucy Nicholson

“Hunger Games: Catching Fire” captured the top prize after being voted ‘movie of the year’ at the MTV Movie Awards on Sunday, beating this year’s Oscar best-picture winner “12 Years a Slave” in online voting.

Conan O'Brien hosted the show, which aired live from the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles. The stars of the blockbuster movie, Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson, received the golden popcorn for best female and male performances for their roles as Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark. Hutcherson thanked the late Philip Seymour Hoffman, who played Plutarch Heavensbee in the “Hunger Games” franchise.

"I know if Philip were here he would think this was really cool," Hutcherson reportedly said. "We think about him every day on set," referring to the ongoing production of the next installment of the super-popular movie series.

Jared Leto won the "best on-screen transformation" prize for his role in "Dallas Buyers Club." The award was presented to him by "12 Years a Slave" star, Lupita Nyong'o. "It's an award in itself to get that from her," Leto said, deepening on-going speculation about the two being romantically linked.

Jonah Hill received the award for "best comedic performance" for his role in “The Wolf of Wall Street.”

“I used to watch this awards show at home with all my friends," Hill said, with his hands on the golden popcorn.

Mila Kunis, who won the award for "best villain" for her role in “Oz: The Great and Powerful,” said: “I just realized I was the only woman nominated. And I won!”

Others who were nominated with her under this category included Barkhad Abdi for “Captain Phillips,” Benedict Cumberbatch for “Star Trek into Darkness,” Michael Fassbender for “12 Years a Slave” and Donald Sutherland for “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.”

Zac Efron won the award for "best shirtless performance" in “That Awkward Moment.” Rita Ora ripped Efron’s shirt off on stage while presenting him the award along with Jessica Alba.

The award for "best kiss" went to Emma Roberts, Jennifer Aniston and Will Poulter for “We're the Millers,” but the tradition of the show of kissing live on stage could not be fulfilled as Roberts and Aniston were not present. Poulter also received an award for "breakthrough performance" in the movie.

The "Trailblazer award" was given to Channing Tatum, the first male artist to receive the honor. "It's weird because 10 years ago I was sitting in front of my TV watching the show just like people at home right now, and I didn't have the faintest thought that I could be up here talking to y'all," Tatum reportedly said.

Backstreet Boys received the award for "best musical moment" and Rihanna for "best cameo performance" for their appearances in the comedy, "This is the End." During the show, Rihanna took the stage with Eminem to perform their hit "The Monster."

The "best on-screen duo" award went to Vin Diesel and Paul Walker for “Fast & Furious 6.” Leonardo DiCaprio received the award for "#wtf moment" for “The Wolf of Wall Street,” while Brad Pitt received the award for "best scared-as-s**t performance" for his role in “World War Z.”