In the second week of NASCAR’s new knockout pole system, Penske Ford produced the two best times once again and Joey Logano earned his eighth career poll ahead of Sunday’s Kobalt 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Logano sped off a new track-record 193.28 mph lap, and teammate Brad Keselowski was second at 193.099. The pair flipped last week’s inaugural spin with the new knockout system, which gives drivers 30 and 10-minute time windows to post their fastest lap.

Thus far the system agrees with Team Penske.

"It gets crazy out there," Logano said after his win. "I think it's way cooler than old-style qualifying, don't get me wrong. It's awesome. ... We're all learning right now. It's all new to us, but we're having fun with it. I enjoy it. I think it's cool."

Michael Waltrip Racing’s Clint Bowyer will make his best start of the season so far in the third slot running a 192.713 lap, and rookie Austin Dillon was close behind in fourth with 192.678. Defending Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson rounds out the top five, and goes for this third straight top 10 finish after just five events this year.

After taking the pole in Daytona, Dillon came back to earth with a 24th place finish last week in Phoenix. However his excellent lap this week should provide a huge boost of confidence.

Currently 13th in the standings, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was the only member of Roush Fenway to crack the top 10 rows, and he’ll look to improve on his 18th place finish last year in Vegas.

Matt Kenseth took last year’s race after starting from the 18th row, and besting Kasey Kahne despite the Hendricks driver leading for 114 laps. Kenseth will begin Sunday from the 29th row, and Kahne the 13th.

TV Channel: FOX

Start Time: Sunday, 3 p.m. EST

Starting Grid

1.Joey Logano

2.Brad Keselowski

3.Clint Bowyer

4.Austin Dillon

5.Jimmie Johnson

6.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

7.Jamie McMurray

8.Aric Almirola

9.Brian Vickers

10.Ryan Newman

11.Carl Edwards

12.Martin Truex Jr.

13.Kasey Kahne

14.Dale Earnhardt Jr.

15.Jeff Gordon

16.Kevin Harvick

17.Kyle Larson

18.AJ Allmendinger

19.Jeff Burton

20.Kyle Busch

21.Paul Menard

22.Danica Patrick

23.Kurt Busch

24.Tony Stewart

25.Greg Biffle

26.David Ragan

27.Denny Hamlin

28.Cole Whitt

29.Matt Kenseth

30.Casey Mears

31.Josh Wise

32.Parker Kligerman

33.David Gilliland

34.Trevor Bayne

35.Michael McDowell

36.Alex Bowman

37.Justin Allgaier

38.Michael Annett

39.Ryan Truex

40.Reed Sorenson

41.Timmy Hill

42.Travis Kvapil

43.Marcos Ambrose