Jimmie Johnson
Five-time Sprint Cup champ Jimmie Johnson will try to build on his slim four-point lead on Sunday at Martinsville. Reuters

Jimmie Johnson holds a slim four point lead over the charging Matt Kenseth in the Sprint Cup Chase standings heading into Sunday’s half-mile dash around Martinsville, Va.

Johnson starts just behind pole winner Denny Hamlin in the No. 2 slot, followed by fellow Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Kyle Busch and Kenseth, and Clint Bowyer.

It was the third career pole for Hamlin at Martinsville, and his fourth of the year. Missing several races due to injury earlier this season put Hamlin way back in the Chase pack, but that won’t stop him from playing spoiler to anyone other than his teammates.

Five-time champion Johnson is firmly in line to snag his sixth title considering his recent history at Martinsvill. Johnson has won the last two NASCAR races in Martinsville, leading in 539 laps.

However Kenseth has proved a worthy opponent of Johnson, besting him in victories with seven this year. Kenseth has also finished as high as fourth in the last six races at Martinsville.

Busch and Kevin Harvick are both 26 points back from the Chase lead, with Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Greg Biffle still within striking distance.

TV Channel: ESPN

Live Stream: Watch ESPN

Start Time: 1:30 p.m. Eastern Time

Starting Grid

1.Denny Hamlin

2.Jimmie Johnson

3.Kyle Busch

4.Matt Kenseth

5.Clint Bowyer

6.Joey Logano

7.Jamie McMurray

8.David Ragan

9.Jeff Gordon

10.Kevin Harvick

11.Brad Keselowski

12.Dale Earnhardt Jr.

13.Juan Pablo Montoya

14.Carl Edwards

15.Martin Truex Jr.

16.Marcos Ambrose

17.Ryan Newman

18.Aric Almirola

19.Kurt Busch

20.Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

21.Mark Martin

22.Jeff Burton

23.Paul Menard

24.Landon Cassill

25.Kasey Kahne

26.Kyle Larson

27.David Gilliland

28.Casey Mears

29.Dave Blaney

30.Cole Whitt

31.Josh Wise

32.Travis Kvapil

33.Greg Biffle

34.Bobby Labonte

35.Elliott Sadler

36.Michael McDowell

37.J.J. Yeley

38.Ken Schrader

39.Tony Raines

40.Joe Nemechek

41.Danica Patrick

42.Reed Sorenson

43.David Reutimann