Peyton Manning Denver Broncos
Peyton Manning is the only player in Sunday's game that's won the Super Bowl MVP award. Getty

When the Carolina Panthers face the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl 50, one player will elevate his legacy by being named the game’s MVP. For the first time, Nevada sports books are accepting wagers for one of the game's most popular prop bets.

Last year, the favorite to win the award was named the Super Bowl MVP, but that isn’t always the case. In the 2014 Super Bowl, Malcolm Smith was given the honor despite not even having odds to win.

A few players stand out as favorites to win the award, while others have very poor betting odds, via Bovada.

Cam Newton (-130)

With the Panthers expected by most gamblers to beat the Broncos, Newton is the odds-on favorite to be named the game’s MVP. In the last 17 Super Bowls, 11 of the MVP’s have been quarterbacks for the winning team. Newton has put up big numbers all season long, and if the Panthers win, it’s hard to imagine that his statistics won’t be impressive.

Newton has posted a passer rating of at least 104.4 in nine of the last 11 games, and he won’t need to be perfect to win the award. Tom Brady was the MVP after throwing two picks last year, and Peyton Manning had just an 81.8 passer rating when he was the Super Bowl MVP. Even if Ted Ginn Jr. or Greg Olsen have big games, they probably won’t win the award because Newton will be rewarded for getting them the ball.

Peyton Manning (+275)

Manning was the favorite to win the award in each of his three previous Super Bowl appearances, but his odds are nearly at 3/1 because Denver is such a significant underdog. Manning is no longer an elite quarterback, and he’s had few MVP worthy games this season, throwing more touchdowns than interceptions just three times. He wasn’t the Broncos best player in either of their playoff games, but he’s still the most likely player to win the award if Denver wins.

The Broncos have the NFL’s No.1 defense, but only nine defensive players have ever been named the Super Bowl MVP. If Von Miller, DeMarcus Ware and Aqib Talib all have standout performances, the award could very well still go to Manning. Especially with Sunday possibly being Manning’s last NFL game, voters will likely give him the edge if Denver wins and he doesn’t make any glaring errors.

Luke Kuechly (+1400)

If any non-quarterback has a chance to win the award, it’s Kuechly. The linebacker isn’t likely to be named the Super Bowl MVP, but it wouldn’t be shocking to see him get the nod in a Carolina win. Kuechly was the Panthers’ best player in the divisional playoffs, and he could have a big game while going up against a quarterback that’s well past his prime.

Three linebackers have been the Super Bowl MVP. Malcolm Smith won the award two years ago when he intercepted a Manning pass for a touchdown, and Kuechly could very well do the same on Sunday. Kuechly has posted a pick-six in back-to-back playoff games, and he had one earlier this season against the Dallas Cowboys. He’s the favorite to be named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year, and he has an outside chance to be Sunday’s Player of the Game.

Realistic Longshots

C.J. Anderson (+2000), Ted Ginn Jr. (+2000), Von Miller (+2000), Greg Olsen (+2200), Emmanuel Sanders (+2200), Jonathan Stewart (+2200), Demaryius Thomas (+2200), Josh Norman (+2800), Aqib Talib (+3300), DeMarcus Ware (+3300), The Field (+3300),

Not Impossible

Corey Brown (+6600), Owen Daniels (+6600), Graham Gano (+6600), Ronnie Hillman (+6600), Brandon McManus (+6600), Darian Stewart (+6600), Danny Trevathan (+6600), Chris Harris Jr. (+7500)

Off the Radar

Devin Funchess (+10000), Brandon Marshall (+10000), Derek Wolfe (+10000), Kurt Coleman (+15000), Mike Tolbert (+15000)