U.S. Customs and Border Protection (USCBP) has authorized eight new airports across the country to offer flights to Cuba, following President Barack Obama's decision to ease travel restrictions to Cuba early this year.

In January 2011, the Obama administration vowed to loosen the travel restrictions on US citizens for traveling to Cuba allowing students and church groups to travel to the communist country, which has been under U.S. economic embargo for almost 48 years.

The new airports permitted to provide flights to Cuba include Tampa, Dallas/Fort Worth, Chicago, San Juan, Pittsburgh, Baltimore and Atlanta.

Earlier, Miami, New York and Los Angeles were the only airports in United states that were allowed to host Cuba flights.

The move is being perceived as a great beginning to support Cuba's failing economy by providing additional resources.

Read more:

US warns against all travel to Yemen
Miami airport gets its first joint premium lounge
Obama's call to ease travel restrictions to Cuba draws criticism