At Wednesday night's NBA Draft Lottery, the New Orleans Hornets became the controversial winners of the No. 1 overall pick, otherwise known as the Anthony Davis sweepstakes. The NBA league office and Commissioner David Stern controlled the franchise this season and nixed a trade that would have sent Chris Paul to the Lakers, but has slowly been handing control to new owner Tom Benson.

Davis is expected to be the top selection and his teammate Michael Kidd-Gilchrist will likely be the No. 2 pick; however, the rest of the draft will be a mystery. Kentucky and North Carolina will most likely dominate the draft, with as many as eight players being selected from the two teams in the first round. The draft is scheduled to be held June 28 at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. It will be broadcast on ESPN at 7 p.m. EDT.

Now that the order has been determined, here is a 2012 NBA mock draft of the first round:

1.       Hornets             Anthony Davis

2.       Bobcats            Michael Kidd-Gilchrist

3.       Wizards            Thomas Robinson

4.       Cavaliers          Bradley Beal      

5.       Kings                Harrison Barnes

6.       Trail Blazers     John Henson

7.       Warriors            Perry Jones

8.       Raptors              Jared Sullinger

9.       Pistons               Andre Drummond

10.   Hornets                Damian Lillard

11.   Trail Blazers         Kendal Marshall               

12.   Bucks                  Tyler Zeller

13.   Suns                   Austin Rivers

14.   Rockets               Meyers Leonard

15.   76ers                  Quincy Miller

16.   Rockets               Terrence Ross

17.   Mavericks            Jeremy Lamb

18.   Timberwolves       Terrence Jones

19.   Magic                   Moe Harkless

20.   Nuggets               Marquis Teague

21.   Celtics                 Dion Waiters

22.   Celtics                 Evan Fournier

23.   Hawks                 Arnett Moultrie

24.   Cavaliers             Andrew Nicholson

25.   Grizzlies              Tony Wroten

26.   Pacers                Jeff Taylor

27.   Heat                    Tyshawn Taylor

28.   Thunder              Will Barton

29.   Bulls                    John Jenkins

30.   Warriors               Fab Melo