Man Booker Prize winner, Julian Barnes, and Britain's poet laureate, Carol Ann Duffy, are among the shortlisted nominees for this year's Costa Book Awards.

Announced on Nov. 15, 2011, the shortlisted nominees were named for recognition in five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book.

Originally established in 1971 by Whitbread Olc, Costa, 2011 marks the 40th year of the book awards.

The winners for the current year will be announced on Jan. 4, 2012, with each winner in the five categories receiving $7,901.5. However, the overall winner of the 2011 Costa Book Awards will receive $47,409 and will be announced in a ceremony in London on Jan. 24, 2012.

Apart from big name veterans like Barnes and Claire Tomalin, a debut novel by an intensive care nurse at Great Ormond Street children's hospital in London will also compete for the 2011 award.

Take a look at the shortlisted names below:

2011 Costa Novel Award Shortlist

Julian Barnes (The Sense of an Ending)

John Burnside (A Summer of Drowning)

Andrew Miller (Pure)

Louisa Young (My Dear I Wanted to Tell You)

2011 Costa First Novel Award Shortlist

Kevin Barry (City of Bohane)

Patrick McGuinness (The Last Hundred Days)

Christie Watson (Tiny Sunbirds Far Away)

Kerry Young (Pao)

2011 Costa Biography Award Shortlist

Julia Blackburn (Thin Paths Thin Paths: Journeys In and Around an Italian Mountain Village)

Patrick and Henry Cockburn (Henry's Demons: Living with Schizophrenia, A Father and Son's Story)

Matthew Hollis (Now All Roads Lead to France: The Last Years of Edward Thomas)

Claire Tomalin (Charles Dickens: A Life)

2011 Poetry Award Shortlist

Carol Ann Duffy (The Bees)

David Harsent (Night)

Jackie Kay (Fiere)

Sean O'Brien (November)

2011 Children's Book Award Shortlist

Martyn Bedford (Flip)

Frank Cottrell Boyce (The Unforgotten Coat)

Lissa Evans (Small Change for Stuart)

Moira Young (Blood Red Road).