Amid an unprecedented global economic crisis, The World Economic Forum 2009 taking place in Davos, Switzerland kicks off from Jan 28 to February 1, as thousands of key economic figures come together to discuss and find ways to stabilize and relaunch the global economy.

Over 2,500 international participants are expected including heads of state, key finance, foreign affairs, trade and energy ministers as well as Chief Executive officers of global firms, social entrepreneurs and even religious leaders.

What we are experiencing is the birth of a new era, a wake-up call to overhaul our institutions, our systems and, above all, our way of thinking, said Professor Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the WEF, in a press conference in Geneva.

The Forem, with the theme Shaping the Post-Crisis World, will partner with two cutting edge social networks YouTube and MySpace, launching on-line video forums to create a dialogue with economic experts and the general public.

To access the forums visit:

Youtube Davos

MySpace Journal

World Economic Forum

World leaders taking part in The World Economic Forum 2009 will include:


Kofi Annan, Secretary-General, United Nations (1997-2006); Member of the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum

Stephen Green, Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings, United Kingdom

Anand Mahindra, Vice-Chairman and Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra, India

Rupert Murdoch, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, News Corporation, USA

Maria Ramos, Group Chief Executive, Transnet, South Africa

Jeroen van der Veer, Chief Executive, Royal Dutch Shell Plc

Werner Wenning, Chairman of the Board of Management, Bayer, Germany

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao and Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin will address participants on the opening day.

Angela Merkel, Federal Chancellor of Germany, Germany; Gordon Brown, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom; and Premier Taro Aso of Japan will also address sessions of the Meeting.

Public figures include 41 heads of state and government, 17 ministers of finance, 19 central bankers, 22 trade ministers, 16 ministers of foreign affairs, 15 ministers of environment and energy, 9 EU commissioners and the heads of 30 international organizations.