As Americans begin to rush home from work in time to vote in the 2012 presidential election, many do not know what time the polls close on Tuesday in their home state.

For starters, voters must go to their designated polling location (except in some areas disrupted by Hurricane Sandy, where voting has been consolidated) in order to vote. Visit your county or state website, which you can find at, to find your location.

Various websites also have voter information, including hours and locations, as well as other pertinent information regarding the election. lists polling places along with a list of candidates, voting rules and deadlines. The website also gives the following hotline numbers for problems on election day: 1-866-MYVOTE1 (866-698-6831), 1-866-OUR-VOTE (866-687-8683) and 1-888-VE-Y-VOTA (en Español). The Google Politics & Elections page has personalized polling and ballot summary with a list of candidates for the general election as well as your state's elections. helps verify voter registration status and lists polling places, what to bring in order to vote and information about the candidates.

Be sure to check that your poling place is still valid, especially in areas that were affected by Hurricane Sandy. Check with local elections officials. In New York City, voters can text "NYCVOTES" or "DONDE" (Español) to 877-877 to verify a polling location change.

Here's a state-by-state guide for times the polls close on Tuesday, courtesy of, listed in EST.

Alaska11:00 PM, 12:00 & 1:00 AM
Alabama7:00 & 8:00 PM
Arkansas08:30:00 PM
Arizona09:00:00 PM
California11:00:00 PM
Colorado09:00:00 PM
Connecticut08:00:00 PM
Washington D.C.08:00:00 PM
Delaware08:00:00 PM
Florida7:00 & 8:00 PM
Georgia07:00:00 PM
Hawaii11:00:00 PM
Iowa10:00:00 PM
Idaho10:00 & 11:00 PM
Illinois08:00:00 PM
Indiana6:00 & 7:00 PM
Kansas8:00 & 9:00 PM
Kentucky6:00 & 7:00 PM
Louisiana09:00:00 PM
Massachusetts08:00:00 PM
Maryland08:00:00 PM
Maine08:00:00 PM
Michigan8:00 & 9:00 PM
Minnesota09:00:00 PM
Missouri08:00:00 PM
Mississippi08:00:00 PM
Montana10:00:00 PM
North Carolina07:30:00 PM
North Dakota8:00 & 9:00 PM
Nebraska09:00:00 PM
New Hampshire7:00, 7:30 & 8:00 PM
New Jersey08:00:00 PM
New Mexico09:00:00 PM
Nevada10:00:00 PM
New York09:00:00 PM
Ohio07:30:00 PM
Oklahoma08:00:00 PM
Oregon10:00 & 11:00 PM
Pennsylvania08:00:00 PM
Rhode Island08:00:00 PM
South Carolina07:00:00 PM
South Dakota8:00 & 9:00 PM
Tennessee08:00:00 PM
Texas8:00 & 9:00 PM
Utah10:00:00 PM
Virginia07:00:00 PM
Vermont07:00:00 PM
Washington11:00:00 PM
Wisconsin09:00:00 PM
West Virginia07:30:00 PM
Wyoming09:00:00 PM