• Virat Kohli has been India's limited-overs captain since 2017
  • He led India to historic Test series Down Under in 2018-19
  • He now has a series win across formats in Australia

After India sealed the Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Australia in Sydney on Sunday, captain Virat Kohli registered a record that had eluded MS Dhoni during his tenure as the skipper of the Men in Blue.

Kohli's side claimed an 11-run win in the first T20I in Canberra, which was followed by their six-wicket victory at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in the second T20I in the ongoing three-match series. With the T20I series victory Down Under, Kohli became the first-ever Indian captain to win a T20I series in South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia (SENA countries).

Dhoni, who led India for nearly a decade in limited-overs cricket and had captained Team India to the title in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2017, had secured series wins as captain in South Africa and Australia, but couldn't do the same in New Zealand and England.

Virat Kohli India's captain Kohli (L) listens to teammate Dhoni during a practice session ahead of the first One Day International match between West Indies and India at the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad, June 22, 2017. Photo: JEWEL SAMAD/AFP/Getty Images

Under Kohli's captaincy, India won the T20I series in South Africa and England in 2018. Earlier this year, India whitewashed New Zealand 5-0 in their backyard and the win in the ongoing T20I series Down Under helped Kohli to complete the quartet.

In addition to this, Kohli also became the first Indian captain and the second overall, after South Africa's Faf du Plessis, to lead a team to series wins in all the three formats on Australian soil. During India's 2018-19 tour of Australia, Kohli and Co scripted history as they had registered India's maiden Test series win there, after which India also won the One-Day International (ODI) series.

India's ongoing tour of Australia began on a poor note as they suffered a 2-1 loss in the ODI series. After losing the opening two matches, India won the dead rubber fixture by 13 runs in Canberra.

Kohli will be eyeing a clean sweep ahead of the final third T20I between India and Australia on Tuesday and continue the winning momentum into the much-awaited Border-Gavaskar Test series. The first Test is set to be a day-night fixture, which will be India's first overseas pink ball game. It is scheduled to begin on Dec. 17 at the Adelaide Oval. The remaining three Tests will be played in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.