KEY POINTS

  • MacBook Pro owners need to know how to Factory Reset the device before selling it or giving it away
  • Factory Reset helps restore the device to its original state -- devoid of any login details and all
  • The process is easy, but will take time

Those who are planning to sell their MacBook Pros, or give it to someone else, should learn to Factory Reset the device. This process ensures that the MacBook Pro is returned to its original state, just like when it was first taken out of the box and turned on.

Apple Insider noted that failing to Factory Reset the MacBook Pro prior to selling or giving away can lead to a lot of problems, including giving others some crucial login information details to Apple Pay accounts, emails and more.

Those who are ready to let their MacBook Pros go should do the following.

First, remove personal data from the device

This includes deauthorizing the computer from the Music app and TV app. This is done via Music/TV > Account > Authorizations then De-authorize this computer.

Second, sign out from the Mac App Store

This is done by clicking on the Store menu, then clicking on Sign Out.

Third, sign out from Messages

To do this, users should launch Messages, then choose Preferences, followed by iMessages. Once there, users should click on the Sign Out button.

Fourth, sign out from iCloud

This is done clicking on the Sign Out button shown towards the bottom left after accessing System Preferences > Apple ID > Overview.

Fifth, disconnect all devices

Those who use wireless keyboards, mice and AirPods with their MacBook Pro should disconnect all of them and unpair from the device. Users can do this via System Preferences > Bluetooth then clicking on the circular box that appears whenever the mouse pointer hovers on any paired wireless device.

Sixth, wipe the drive

As a general rule, users should backup before doing this. Once that's done, users should restart their MacBook than press on Command+R. A startup screen will appear. Users should enter their Admin password when prompted, then wait for the macOS Utilities window to open. Once it opens, users should launch Disk Utility.

Inside Disk Utility, users will find a list of drives connected to the MacBook Pro. A startup disk named Macintosh HD will be found under Internal. Beneath that is at least one more volume called Macintosh HD-Data. Delete Macintosh HD-Data by entering the Edit menu, then choosing Delete AFPS Volume. Confirm by choosing Delete when prompted.

Those who renamed the startup disk should return it to “Macintosh HD.” This will prepare the drives for the turnover.

Lastly, reinstall macOS

At this point, users should leave the Disk Utility feature and choose Reinstall macOS. Users should enter a password if prompted, then confirm to install the latest macOS version. Users should wait for the MacBook Pro to finish. Once it's done, the device will be restored to factory settings, and is just like new.

MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro and people. Reuters/Albert Gea
MEET IBT NEWS FROM BELOW CHANNELS

© Copyright IBTimes 2022. All rights reserved.